Mandy McMath ECS Conservation Award

The Mandy McMath ECS Conservation Award

Applications will be invited for the ECS Mandy McMath Conservation Award in due course.

The award is for an outstanding contribution to the field of marine mammal conservation and/or welfare, with particular emphasis on contributions to environmental education and/or to conservation in practice. 

  • The award can be given for a single contribution (such as a book, scientific paper or a particular project) or for an entire body of work – e.g. a series of linked contributions)
  • The award will be judged on the basis of a proposal made using the format described below
  • The award will be preferably decided upon consensus, although a simple majority vote can be used if no consensus is reached    
  • The winner of the award will be announced during the ECS Conference
  • Self-nominations are not accepted
  • The Awards Committee reserves the right not to present the award if no appropriate nominations are received

The ECS Award Committee consists of the past award winners and it is advised by Mario Acquarone, the ECS Council Chair, and Mark Simmonds, Award Secretary, and other ECS members: Aviad Scheinin, Hanna Nuuttila, Ayaka Öztürk and Andrew Wright. 


  • Name of the person nominated for award, their address and contact details
  • Description of the body of work proposed for the award (maximum length of proposal 500 words)
  • Full references for the material identified above and any relevant web-links.
  • Name of nominator(s), their addresses and contact details

This form, and any supporting material if deemed necessary, should be sent to the Award Secretary by the date announced each year. 



Previous Award Winners:

The past recipients of the award are the late Prof. Krzysztof Skóra (2011), Dr Peter Evans (2012), Erich Hoyt (2013), Nick Tregenza (2014), Dr Giuseppe Notarbartolo di Sciara (2015), Professor Hal Whitehead (2016); Heidrun Frisch-Nwakanma (2017) and Dan Jarvis and Tilen Genov (2018).