Mandy McMath Conservation Award

The award is for an outstanding contribution to the field of marine mammal conservation and/or welfare, with particular emphasis on contributions to environmental education and/or to conservation in practice (e.g. leading to improved legislation or management.

Past recipients of the award include Prof. Krzysztof Skóra (2011), Dr Peter Evans (2012), Erich Hoyt (2013), Nick Tregenza (2014) and Dr Giuseppe Notobartarlo di Sciara (2015)

The award will be judged on the basis of a proposal made using the format given below and related material as described. It will be decided upon by consensus, or a majority vote of the ECS Conservation Award Committee. The winner of the award will be announced during the ECS Conference. Self-nominations are discouraged. The Committee reserves the right not to present the award if no appropriate nominations are received.

The ECS Award Committee comprises:

Aviad Scheinin
Mario Aquarone
Hanna Nuuttila
Ayaka Öztürk
Mark Peter Simmonds (Chair)
Andrew Wright
Giuseppe Notarbarlo di Sciara


Name(s) of person(s)/institution/body nominated for award

Address and contact details

Description of the work/body of work proposed for the award (maximum length of proposal 250 words)

NB The award can be given for a single conservation-education tool (such as a book or for an entire body of work - i.e. a series of linked contributions) in the sphere of education relating to marine mammal conservation and or welfare.

Full references for the material identified above and any relevant web-links.

Name of nominator(s)

Address and contact details

This form, and any supporting material if deemed necessary, should be sent to the Chair of the Award Committee by 26th February 2016.

Mark Peter Simmonds
ECS Conservation Award Chair